Summer Sessions

General Information

Registration for the 2019 Summer Sessions will open on Friday, March 1. Continuing students may register for classes on GWeb except for a few selected programs, consortium courses, closed classes, or classes requiring departmental or instructor approval (see Classes Unavailable in GWeb).

New students who have been admitted to degree programs for the upcoming summer session should check with their school for information about orientation and registration.

New non-degree students must first be admitted to the university; once admitted, non-degree students may also register on GWeb. Please see the Office of Non-Degree Students for information on applying. Non-degree students are eligible to enroll at GW if they are U.S. citizens or permanent residents and are in good standing at another institution, if applicable.

GWeb registration opens at 7am on March 1 and then continues 24 hours/day, including weekends. Occasionally the system may be made unavailable during regular hours for system maintenance and upgrades. These periods will be advertised in advance on the GWeb login page.

 

  Session I
(May 20 - June 29)
Session II
(July 1 - August 10)
  If your class falls outside of the standard session dates it may have different Add/Drop/Withdrawal dates. Please contact your program for assistance.
General Registration

Friday, Mar 1 - Sunday, May 19

Friday, May 17 is the last day for ALL Consortium registration

Friday, Mar 1 - Sunday, June 30

Friday, May 17 is the last day for ALL Consortium registration

Late Registration

Begins Monday, May 20

Monday, May 27 is the last day to add a class via GWeb or to drop a class via any means

Friday, May 31 is the last day to add a class via RTF-EZ

Friday, June 14 is the last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of 'W' using the RTF-EZ or to change grade mode with Dean's permission

Sunday, June 16 is the last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of 'W' using GWeb

Begins Monday, July 1

Sunday, July 7 is the last day to add a class via GWeb or to drop a class via any means

Friday, July 12 is the last day to add a class via RTF-EZ

Friday, July 26 is the last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of 'W' using the RTF-EZ or to change grade mode with Dean's permission

Sunday, July 28 is the last day to withdraw from a class with a grade of 'W' using GWeb

Late Registration

Beginning the first day of classes per session, there is an $80 late fee assessed for any first-time registrations.

During the first week of classes, students who wish to add a course(s) and drop a course(s) as an even exchange may do so without financial loss if these transaction requests are for an equal number of credit hours. Please be advised that individual program adjustments may incur tuition charges and/or fees if they are not even exchanges, or involve courses other than those at the Foggy Bottom or Mount Vernon campuses.